Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

The Green Machine: It's all coming together now.

Hello all, I just wanted to talk about the new rig. As one would assume, a new rig = excitement and let's just say that I am pretty excited!! :mrgreen:

I am currently building my very first monster and it has been very costly and time consuming (Mainly due to shipping :| ). But I am currently typing from it as we speak... or type... whatever. Haha!

But anyways lets get down to the grits, here is what I have so far...

Motherboard: Gigabyte G1 Assassin
    Processor: Intel i7 990X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Corsair Vengence 6 X 4GB 240-pin DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
    Graphics: X2 EVGA GTX 580 3072MB in SLi
    PSU: Corsair Professional Gold AX1200

You may have noticed that there is not a case in that list. Well, it turns out that it is pretty hard to get cases sent to APO addresses.. BUT, I have a Coolermaster HAF X Nvidia Edition ordered and I hope to have it here before Christmas (Doubtful but one can dream, right?)
    So the set up is pretty much sitting on a home made workbench i.e. a cardboard box with PCIe cut outs. I know, sounds awesome, huh? 8)
    And I have plenty more on order too, I just ordered a third GTX 580 about a week ago, a full kit of sleeved wires for the case when it gets here, some some 6GB sata 3 cables, and a Ram fan (because one of my Vengence sticks came a little beat up and I am too lazy to RMA but I don't want to look at it.)
    And just about 20 minutes ago I ordered 3 EVGA Hydro Copper 2 GTX 580 waterblocks and a EVGA 3-way SLi waterblock bridge (all for under $500 USD!)

I don't know about you guys but I am pumped! I plan on going for a green theme with the case and LED's. Luckily I do my own solder work so whatever isn't green I can change. :wink:

So far with what I got right now (the first list) these are my 3DMark Vantage results: http://3dmark.com/3dmv/3709669