Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    573
    Rep Power
    0

    Hardware : Memory Question

    I'm lookin at some ram on sale
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231428

    It's sold as a dual kit, can I buy 3 of these to fill my 6 slots of triple channel memory? RAM is RAM right, being sold in 2s doesnt mean anything I'm assuming just a 'value pack'?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    14,114
    Rep Power
    0
    moving to the proper forum.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    14,114
    Rep Power
    0
    What motherboard do you have?


    For a gaming rig, matching is the best route for performance.

    I would go with this ram:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231464


    to be honest, after 8 gigs of ram you really wont tell a different. Most people only need 6 or 8 gigs to be honest but if you get the ones listed you will have 12 gigs and still have three slots open for later. Also, some ram and motherboards over clock better with only half the ram filled. Also with three slots open the ram will stay cooler as air can get around them better.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    573
    Rep Power
    0
    Ah, thanks for the info

    I have this mobo
    ASUS P6X58D-E
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131641

    with

    i7 950
    evga gtx 560 ti superclock
    6gb ddr3 1600 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231225)
    120gb ocz vertex2
    1tb WD CB
    ocz 600W psu

    everything is defeult clock speeds

    With the 6 is nice but with the couple of pragrams I usually idle around with i usup half of that all the time, when i play bf3 i have to close some stuff - if more ram isnt the answer and if i still have to close some stuff then I probably won't bother.

    Was just bored looking at an impulse buy lol

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    14,114
    Rep Power
    0
    Your motherboard is triple channel.

    6gigs should be good but at least 8 gigs is what I always recommend..

    go to run: type in msconfig then see what is started in teh background when you start your computer that you dont always need to be on. most of them will be resource hogs that are not needed to run all the time. It will speed up your start up and over all performance.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wonderland
    Posts
    16,661
    Rep Power
    0
    Just out of curiosity. Are you overclocking? Because you almost never get the exact speed of the ram that they listed. Check in your bios and make sure it says 1600Mhz and the line under that has to be double unless stated otherwise.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    508
    Rep Power
    0
    I would go with the kid that Paid posted. it will leave the other slots open if for some reason you would need to populate them later. You probably will never need to do this as i have 12GB and have felt no need to upgrade. also depending on the version of windows 7 there are artificial caps that Microsoft puts on the amount of ram it can address. Win 7 HP x64 has a 'limit' of 16GB while Professional goes up to 192GB.

    As far as getting the best speed out of the ram it looks like the aforementioned g-Skill set does support XMP, so that will allow you get the best speed but 1 setting in the mobo's bios.

    --Edit--

    Personally I would go with this set. I have built and repaired many computers and corsair always seems to be the best.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233146

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    CenCal
    Posts
    2,247
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm running this ram for my gaming computer, fast, low volt, and haven't had any issues running bf3...no lag what so eva, even on a 64 player server!

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231461

    j

    fyi- no need to oc, scores a 7.6 out of 7.9 on W7x64 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •